Spoiled dinner and a Facebook stalker!

 

Julie
August 28, 2016

Well, that was interesting. We had bingo night last night at the senior center, meaning I got home by 8 p.m. I made ramen and didn’t realize until I had doused the noodles in alfredo sauce that the sauce was expired. *sigh* I stared at the noodles, considering my options. Throw away .25¢ of food or just rinse the cheese off? I decided to do the right thing and throw it in the trash.

As I sat at my computer with hot soup steaming my glasses, I got a Facebook message. I had to wipe my glasses off to see who it was from. Alex the Starer.

Alex: Hey Julie, this is Alex. Thanks for letting me help out again at the center this afternoon. That bingo… I still have “B-I-N-G-O and Bingo was his name-o” in my head. Anyways, thanks.

I just looked at it. Really? Two seconds later I get a friend request. I delete it. I have a policy to not have anyone work-related on my Facebook.

Alex: Hey, I just sent you a friend request. Is that okay?
I roll my eyes.
Julie: Sorry, Alex, I don’t add anyone affiliated with the senior center to my personal account.
Alex: Oh, okay. I understand. Anyways, how long have you worked there?
Me: Three years.

And thusly began an unwanted conversation with Alex. When it finally ended I was relieved. I don’t want him to think we can be friends. There is something about him that turns me off as boyfriend and even friend material. I don’t know why. We are very similar and chatting with him about mutual interests was nice. But there is just something… off that won’t allow me to be anything but an acquaintance. Does that make me a snob?

 

Leave a comment